Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
September 30, 2024, 07:24:21 PM
Home Help Search Log in Register
News: SMF is the next generation in forum software, almost completely re-written from the ground up, make sure you don't fall for cheap imitations that suffer from feature bloat!

YaBB SE Community  |  Development  |  Converters  |  Template conversion between Gold and SE « previous next »
Pages: [1] Reply Ignore Print
Author Topic: Template conversion between Gold and SE  (Read 1693 times)
luisr

Left blank to save space.

Template conversion between Gold and SE
« on: April 03, 2002, 01:17:17 AM »

I have been running a YaBB Gold SP1 board for about two months now.  Wow!  What a forum!  And WOW!  What a resource hog!!!

So I am looking into YaBB SE although it will mean paying a bit extra to my web host for the MySQL support.

Some of my questions about conversion have already been answered here.  However one question still remains.  Will my template go to the SE forum too?  Or will I have to start over to get the SE forum to look like my current Gold forum?

I have never worked with PHP but have enough experience with Perl to allow me to do some modifications to my current YaBB Gold forum.  I want to port these over to SE.  How different is the SE version from the Perl version in terms of coding and structure of modules?  What about the code itself?  I looked into one PHP module and the code looks pretty much the same.

Thanks for any help.
alexrolko
Re:Template conversion between Gold and SE
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2002, 01:47:25 AM »

You can use your YaBB1Gold template with YaBB SE, though you will have to add some new tags if you want some of the features of YaBB SE to work.

if you modified any of the Source files of YaBB 1 Gold such as change the HTML to a different design, those modifications how ever will have to be re-done.

as for the differences between Perl and PHP there are the simularities but they both work differently.
junai3
Noobie